War Thunder dev begins second wave of expansion's closed beta

War Thunder developer Gaijin Entertainment has begun the second wave of the closed beta for Ground Forces, the upcoming tank-based expansion for the military combat game, the studio announced today.

Some players from the first wave, which took place earlier this month, are automatically invited into the second wave. The other way to get in is to pay for it by purchasing one of four limited-edition collector's packs of tanks that are available on Gaijin's store. The packs, which give players access to the M4A2 and/or T-34 tanks, cost between $49.99 and $99.99. Those who don't want to pay will have to wait for the open beta, which will be available in 2014; the aforementioned packs, which offer exclusive content, won't be available once the open beta begins.

Gaijin also posted a series of developer blogs this week, focusing in today's post on tank modifications. Players can upgrade tanks' mobility, armor and firepower. In addition, under War Thunder's Winter Magic promotion, special tasks are available from Dec. 25, 2013, through Jan. 12, 2014, that will unlock two special aircraft: the Soviet bomber TB-3 (screenshot above) and Grumman XF5F. Players who complete all tasks between Jan. 1 and Jan. 10 will receive a free week of premium membership.

For more on War Thunder, check out our interview with Gaijin about the PlayStation 4 version.

Read These Next

Latest Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.