Vanguard servers will merge into one and put character names at risk

Sony Online Entertainment announced its plans to merge the two remaining servers for MMO Vanguard into one, come April 4 at 10 p.m. PDT.

Taking to the game's official site, the developer warned servers will be down for a 24-hour period as the merging process begins. Come April 9, the European Halgar server will permanently be taken offline, following its merge with the Telon server.

Any character over level 10 will be moved to the newly merged server during this time, while characters under level 10 that have logged in between Oct. 3, 2012 and April 3, 2012 will also be moved. The merge will increase the likelihood of characters that share the same name. In order to combat this, the character that last logged in will retain their name while others will be prompted to change their character name at their next attempted log-in.

Users who purchased in-game housing on the Halgar servers will be reimbursed and will need to buy new housing plots. House items, fixtures and building material will be returned to the player via a merchant.

A complete server merge FAQ is available here.

More from Polygon

Destiny's beta comparison video: PS4 versus Xbox One

  • The Crew closed beta - Overview video

  • Polygon goes to Poland

  • DOTA 2 gameplay video

  • Battleborn debut trailer

Latest Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.
Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5353_tracker