Soul Fjord launches Jan. 28 exclusively on Ouya

Airtight Games' Ouya exclusive, Soul Fjord, will be released Jan. 28, the studio announced today.

Soul Fjord will be available as a free-to-play title with in-game purchases. The game was created by Airtight Games creative director Kim Swift, who served as the lead designer on Portal prior to joining the studio. Airtight describes Soul Fjord as a rhythm-based roguelike. The game combines Norse mythology and '70s soul music in its star, the "funk Viking" Magnus Jones, who is on a quest to save the world from Ragnarok.

The music of Soul Fjord also blends funk music with Viking influences. Soul Fjord's music was composed by Austin Wintory, who has previously contributed scores to titles such as thatgamecompany's Journey and Stoic's The Banner Saga.

For more on Soul Fjord, whose development was funded by Ouya, check out our interview with Swift from last June.

Update: You can check out a new developer diary about Soul Fjord's music below.

Read These Next

Latest Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.