Hearthstone's single-player expansion Curse of Naxxramas pricing detailed

Hearthstone: Heroes of Warcraft's upcoming single-player expansion, Curse of Naxxramas, will be available in five individual parts for $6.99 each, or as much as $24.99 for all five, developer Blizzard Entertainment announced today.

Naxxramas is a floating necropolis consisting of five wings — the Arachnid Quarter, Plague Quarter, Military Quarter, Construct Quarter and Frostwyrm Lair — each of which has its own set of bosses. The Arachnid Quarter will kick off the release of Curse of Naxxramas, and that wing will be available free to anybody who gets in on the expansion during its launch event, which "will last roughly a month or so," according to Blizzard.

After the Arachnid Quarter, Hearthstone players will have to buy the other four wings. They can buy an individual wing with real money or with gold that they've earned by playing the game. One wing will cost $6.99 or 700 in-game gold.

Blizzard will be selling bundles for people who want to buy multiple wings at once. Those who start playing during Curse of Naxxramas' launch event can pay $19.99 for the four wings following the Arachnid Quarter. Players who own the first two wings can pay $14.99 for the remaining three, and those who have opened the first three wings can buy access to the last two for $9.99. Individuals who miss out on the launch event can buy all five wings for $24.99.

Blizzard noted that paying for wings ahead of time won't make them unlock any faster; they'll still be released on the one-a-week schedule. The studio also explained the Heroic mode in Curse of Naxxramas. The first time a player takes down all the bosses in a particular wing, they'll unlock Heroic versions of those enemies, which are much tougher than the standard bosses. Those who manage to defeat all the Heroic bosses will unlock a new card.

There's still no concrete release date for Curse of Naxxramas; Blizzard said last month that it was planning to launch the expansion in July. Curse of Naxxramas is set to be released simultaneously on iPad, Mac and Windows PC.

More from Polygon

Enemy Starfighter: Homeworld from inside a fighter

  • Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare gameplay trailer

  • Diablo 3 - Xbox One vs. PC comparison

  • Hearthstone - Military Quarter gameplay video

  • Elite: Dangerous Overview video

Latest Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new Polygon username and password

As part of the new Polygon launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to Polygon going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new Polygon username and password

As part of the new Polygon launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to Polygon going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.



Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.