A Halo-ed Life

Life is surreal. A series of random occurrences, a pinball bumper ride that we occasionally help to guide with our fingers on the flippers' control buttons. Or, more apt, a series of falling objects that we have to guide to settle into stable patterns before the playing field fills up too much and overwhelms us. Thank you, Alexey.

I am a lifelong video gamer. My earliest memories include playing a home console Pong. Even before I was a teenager, I was playing Space Invaders, Asteroids, Pac Man, etc. at pizza parlors, rollerskating rinks, amusement parks, but most notably in mall arcades. Some Christmas more than 30 years ago ('79? '80?) I received an Atari (not yet called) 2600. Ostensibly it was for me and my brothers, but I had asked for it and I played it most.

In '86 I graduated High School and got an IBM computer to use for university, although mostly I just used it for Bard's Tale and Ultima questing. When I returned home from school after my freshman year, my younger brother had gotten a Commodore 128. PC gaming took on a whole new life for me as the console (by then an Atari 5200) collected a lot of dust.

The next year or so, I, and seemingly half my known world, discovered the Nintendo NES and console gaming was reborn. The NES lasted several years until in '94 I got a Sega Genesis. I didn't play the Genesis too much (although I did complete Sonic 2 a few times), but I also didn't have a contemporary computer, so I missed the whole FPS birth with Wolfenstein and Doom and such. The Genesis did not hold my interest and I started to think that I had outgrown video gaming.