Nauts! Polynauts! My name is Jenna Pitcher and I'm your new hired goon [Senior Reporter, Australia]

578380_10151291487765739_155922110_n

I know many say this, but that won't stop me from saying it, too: I love video games. I want to make babies with video games.

So as soon as I graduated from high school all those eons ago, I enrolled in a 3D animation and modelling course at the Academy of Interactive Entertainment Canberra (AIE) so I could be a part of the industry I love.

Upon graduating from the AIE, I left for Sydney to try to bust into the industry. After a couple of years as a HR/Office Manager at a video slots developer, I left to further my study in digital arts and game design at QANTM College Sydney.

Over the years I worked in a range of digital artist roles. Mind you, nothing exciting or huge.

In 2010, I had my first start in journalism when I was offered a position at Australian technology publication Delimiter.

I sent the dream of gaining solid traction in the Australian games industry to the knackers and jumped on an even bigger dream: to cover technology and games as a journalist.

As Delimiter was also a news-wire service, my work was published across major Australian online and print technology publications. Publications included: IT Wire, IT News, PC & Tech Authority, Atomic MPC, CRN, CIO, ComputerWorld, PC World, ARN, GamePro Australia, CNET, ZDNET, APC Mag, News Digital Media, Gamespot and more.

After Delimiter, I turned to freelancing and I filed for PC & Tech Authority, Atomic, IT News, IT Wire, CNET, NineMSN Digiknow, APC Mag, TechLife, ABC Technology & Games, techAU, and a number of blogs.

Since 2010, I have covered enterprise technology, consumer technology, cybersecurity, information communications technology (ICT), video games, and state and federal politics.

Still with me after that long-winded life story? On to the good stuff then!