The Canonization of Video Games

The Canonization of Video Games

Now, I dont usually post much on here, and I'm afraid this may drop like a lead balloon, but I read an interesting article here, calling for the canonisation of video games. I'm currently studying a literature degree, and my mind is constantly asking what books should be studied, for what reason and why, basically what places a work of literature in the literary canon.

So I got thinking, what game would you place in video game canon, and more importantly why? It could be Tetris or Angry Birds, so long as you give reasons why it deserves to be in the canon.

So far I'm thinking of aspects such as core gameplay, genres e.g. RPGs and Pokemon Adventures and Zelda, maybe graphics if a game is doing something really special e.g. Ocarina of Time and Mairo 64 moving to 3D, or something totally different like Joust, and how thats changing what a video game is (moving away from the video!) Hopefully this is more than just a best of list, but its able to highlight what certain games are able to do well regarding certain aspects, and not just all rounders, which is what a best of list is closer to. I don't want to pick a set of rules as to what is required to be met, but I want to keep this as an open ended list up for discussion from anybody.

So pick your favourites, what tried to break boundaries, what had a good concept but failed to deliver and what is changing the industry for the better. Pick your mainstream blockbusters, or your favourite indies, whatever goes, so long as it has reason! eg. You might choose angry birds, and reason that while it may not be groundbreaking for core gameplay element, its object is to kill 5 minutes on the train, highlight its ability to jump in and out on a mobile platform and ease of access, something that might not translate with say a Skyrim hours on end epic on a mobile device.

So to get the ball rolling, my entry is...

The Walking Dead

The-walking-dead-7_medium