'Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn' update will remove some content

"Final Fantasy XIV: A Real Reborn" update will remove some content from the previous version of "Final Fantasy XIV."

Updating Final Fantasy XIV to Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn will remove some content, Square Enix detailed on the game's official website.

The update will remove certain mounts as well as delete all Guild Marks. Square Enix encourages players to use up all Marks before the update goes live, as Mark refunds for previously purchased abilities will not be possible once the update is live. It will also remove a large number of Battle, Quest, Seasonal Event, Dungeon, and Exploration achievements.

A Realm Reborn will also record the date and time of achievements to create an in-game character history, which will be different from current methods of recording via The Lodestone. The new game will also provide "significantly different viewing experiences" for cutscenes.

A full list of discontinued content can be found on the game's official website. The first gameplay of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn will be viewable at Gamescom in Cologne, Germany next month.

More from Polygon

A guided video tour of an Unreal Tournament map

  • Freedom Planet gameplay video

  • Adventure Time trailer

  • Hearthstone: Naxxramas Overview

  • Oddworld: New 'N' Tasty - Overview video

Latest Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.
Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5353_tracker