'Star Wars: The Old Republic' consolidating servers

Star Wars: The Old Republic is consolidating its servers by moving all players to one of the higher-population destination servers, it was announced on the game's website today.

Star Wars: The Old Republic is consolidating its servers by moving all players to one of the higher-population destination servers, it was announced on the game's website today.

The server transfers are part of a move to balance the ongoing server population. The game offered free character transfers earlier in summer and, following its success, has decided to make it mandatory for all players.

Players have been assured that the server transfers will not delete any of their characters, however they may need to rename their characters if there is a character name clash on the same server. If guilds with the same name also exist in the same server, one or more of the guilds may need to change their name.

Players will know if they need to change their character name if they see a red exclamation point next to a character's name on the character selection screen.

The developers have created a comprehensive F.A.Q to answer any questions that might arise from the server consolidation, addressing character and guild names, subscriptions, warzone ratings, and active auctions.

More from Polygon

Enemy Starfighter: Homeworld from inside a fighter

  • Call of Duty: Advanced Warfare gameplay trailer

  • Diablo 3 - Xbox One vs. PC comparison

  • Hearthstone - Military Quarter gameplay video

  • Elite: Dangerous Overview video

Latest Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.
Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.

tracking_pixel_5353_tracker