clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Torment: Tides of Numenera alignment system explained

The latest update for the spiritual successor to Planescape: Torment, Torment: Tides of Numenera, details the game's alignment system, also known as Tides.

The game will include five different Tides: Blue, Red, Indigo, Gold and Silver. The Blue Tide represents wisdom, enlightenment and mysticism, while Red is a Tide shaped by passion and action. Justice and the greater good are represented by Indigo, and a Gold Tide stands for charity, sacrifice and empathy. Finally, the game's Silver Tide represents admiration, power and fame. According to the update, Tides act as a background force.

"Your actions, especially your actions in dialogue, will often increase one or two Tides, moving your character toward dominance in those Tides," the update reads. "Then your dominant Tides determine the Legacy you are building for yourself. The Tides are increased when you have a real choice.

"The Tides don't judge your motivations, but if you voice those motivations, then the Tides can be moved."

Some NPCs will also be affected by Tides as well, which can influence how they treat players. For more on how the system works, check out the full post.

Tides of Numenera achieved its Kickstarter goal in April; the campaign raised $4.1 million, far surpassing its $900,000 goal.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon