clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

SEC no longer licensing with EA Sports for college football game

The Southeastern Conference (SEC) will no longer license its trademarks in EA Sports' college football games, ESPN reports.

"Each school makes its own individual decision regarding whether or not to license their trademarks for use in the EA Sports game(s)," an SEC statement reads. "The Southeastern Conference has chosen not to do so moving forward."

The SEC is comprised of 14 universities, including the University of Alabama, the University of Arkansas, Auburn University, the University of Florida, the University of Georgia, the University of Kentucky, Louisiana State University, the University of Mississippi, Mississippi State University, the University of Missouri, the University of South Carolina, the University of Tennessee, Texas A&M University and Vanderbilt University.

Last month, the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) announced that it wouldn't renew its contract with Electronic Arts. EA Sports head Andrew Wilson said that the company would continue the college football series without the NCAA license. EA later inked a deal with the Collegiate Licensing Company (CLC), which would allow it to continue making college football games.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon