clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

One college, two conferences to opt out of EA Sports licensing

If you buy something from a Polygon link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The next game in EA Sports' college football series will lose one team from its roster, and two conferences will cease to license their trademarks to the title, reports Kotaku.

Sources stated the lineup of participating colleges, which includes more than 120 schools, will see one drop out. EA Sports plans to release a list of all licensing partners for next year's college sports game soon.

Yesterday, University of Washington Athletics director Scott Woodward told the Seattle Times that the sports department will advise the university to not renew its licensing agreement. However, the one college to drop from the roster is not Washington, as the college renewed for one year and will appear in the next college football game, Kotaku reports.

According to the report, two universities in the second-tier Football Championship Subdivision will have their symbols removed from the TeamBuilder web feature, which allows players to create customized teams.

The Pac-12 and Big Ten made statements yesterday that they would not appear in the game as licensed conferences; these two will not be present in the next game.

Yesterday, The Southern Conference and SEC told ESPN they would opt out of the video game. However, due to existing contracts, both conferences will appear in the game, despite SEC's statement that it would no longer license its trademarks to video games.

In July, the NCAA announced it would not renew its contract with EA for its long-running NCAA Football series. EA stated the series would continue without the NCAA licensing.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.