clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

These are the IGF 2014 Main Competition finalists

The juries for the 2014 Independent Games Festival announced the finalists for the Main Competition today.

The 16th annual awards honor "the most influential and outstanding development in independent video games," and include nominees like Klei Entertainment's Don't Starve, Lucas Pope's Papers, Please and Galactic Cafe's The Stanley Parable. The full list of categories, nominees and honorable mentions appears below.

Excellence In Audio

  • Dominique Pamplemousse in "It's All Over Once the Fat Lady Sings!" by Deirdra Kiai Productions
  • Crypt of the NecroDancer by Brace Yourself Games
  • Device 6 by Simogo
  • Samorost3 by Amanita Design
  • The Stanley Parable by Galactic Cafe
  • The Yawhg by Damian Sommer and Emily Carroll

Honorable mentions went to The Banner Saga by Stoic, Don't Starve by Klei Entertainment, Jazzpunk by Necrophone Games, Potatoman Seeks the Troof by Pixeljam and Sokobond by Alan Hazelden, Harry Lee and Ryan Roth.

Excellence In Design

  • 868-HACK by Michael Brough
  • Crypt of the NecroDancer
  • Don't Starve
  • Mushroom 11 by Untame
  • Papers, Please
  • TowerFall Ascension by Matt Thorson

Honorable mentions went to The Banner Saga, Device 6, Gorogoa by Jason Roberts, Perfect Stride by Arcane Kids and Threes by Asher Vollmer, Greg Wohlwend and Jimmy Hinson.

Excellence In Narrative

  • Device 6
  • Dominique Pamplemousse in "It's All Over Once the Fat Lady Sings!"
  • Papers, Please
  • Paralect by Paralect Team
  • The Stanley Parable
  • The Yawhg

Honorable mentions went to Detective Grimoire by SFB Games, Gorogoa by Jason Roberts, Monster Loves You by Radial Games Corp. & Dejobaan Games, Quadrilateral Cowboy by Blendo Games and Redshirt by The Tiniest Shark.

Excellence In Visual Art

  • The Banner Saga
  • Device 6
  • Drei by Etter
  • Gorogoa
  • Perfect Stride
  • Samorost3

Honorable mentions went to Don't Starve, Galak-Z by 17-Bit, The Swapper by Facepalm Games, Shelter by Might & Delight and The Yawhg.

Nuovo Award

  • Corrypt by Michael Brough
  • Dominique Pamplemousse in "It's All Over Once the Fat Lady Sings!"
  • Extrasolar by Lazy 8 Studios
  • Luxuria Superbia by Tale of Tales
  • Papers, Please
  • Perfect Woman by Peter Lu and Lea Schonfelder
  • Save the Date by Paper Dino Software
  • SoundSelf by Robin Arnott

Honorable mentions went to Device 6, Elegy for a Dead World by Dejobaan Games with Popcannibal, Shelter, Superhot by the Superhot Team) and 18 Cadence by Aaron A. Reed.

Seumas McNally Grand Prize

  • Device 6
  • Dominique Pamplemousse in "It's All Over Once the Fat Lady Sings!"
  • Don't Starve
  • Jazzpunk
  • The Stanley Parable
  • Papers, Please

Honorable mentions went to 868-HACK, Crypt of the NecroDancer, TowerFall Ascension, Kerbal Space Program by Squad and The Yawhg.

The finalists above will be playable at the IGF Pavilion at GDC 2014, which will be held March 19-21 in San Francisco. Polygon will be in attendance to bring you all the news.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.