clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Get to know Destiny's armor, loot and weapons

Destiny developer Bungie released a new developer diary today, delving into the toys with which players will be able to outfit their in-game characters.

According to Destiny lead designer Lars Bakken, the game's arsenal of weapons is "much bigger" than in the studio's previous work, which primarily consists of the Halo games. Players will be able to wield three different types of guns: standard (hand cannons and auto rifles), special (shotguns and sniper rifles) and heavy (rocket launchers and heavy machine guns). Each of those groups contains sub-categories, such as pulse rifles and assault rifles in the auto rifles field. All weapons are open to all classes.

Loot in Destiny includes a wide variety of armor styles. In addition to the unique look, armor provides a boost to your defenses and class statistics. Bakken noted that in Destiny, enemies drop loot for each character that's customized to them. You and your co-op partners will pick up loot that's appropriate for your class, including ammunition that's specific to the weapon you're using.

"If we're in a Fireteam together, it's great: We're never fighting over those things," said Bakken, referring to the name for a small squad in Destiny.

Bungie's Destiny, which is being published by Activision, is set for release Sept. 9 on PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Xbox 360 and Xbox One. For more, check out our recent hands-on report.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon