clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

EA Access leaves beta, now available to all Xbox One owners

Samit Sarkar (he/him) is Polygon’s deputy managing editor. He has more than 15 years of experience covering video games, movies, television, and technology.

EA Access is now available to all Xbox One owners, publisher Electronic Arts announced today.

The full launch follows a limited beta period that began in late July, when EA announced EA Access. The subscription service costs $4.99 a month or $29.99 a year. The main draw of the program is The Vault, a library of on-demand Xbox One titles from EA that starts with Battlefield 4, FIFA 14, Madden NFL 25 and Peggle 2 and will grow over time.

EA Access will also give subscribers up to five days of pre-release play for select upcoming EA titles, starting with Madden NFL 15, NHL 15, FIFA 15, NBA Live 15 and Dragon Age: Inquisition. In addition, the subscription includes a 10 percent discount on purchases of all EA games and add-on content made through the Xbox Games Store.

EA Access is currently exclusive to Xbox One. Reached for comment, a Sony representative said the company had evaluated the program and "decided that it does not bring the kind of value PlayStation customers have come to expect." Today, EA confirmed that it will not release a playable demo for Madden 15, leaving EA Access as the only way for football fans to try the game ahead of its Aug. 26 launch; an EA spokesperson later told Polygon that the Madden team elected to forgo a demo in order to dedicate all development resources to the game itself.

For more on EA Access, check out our opinion pieces on why it doesn't go far enough as a Netflix for games, and what it means for game ownership.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon