clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Learn how to play Evolve with this seven-minute explainer

Evolve pits four hunters against one monster in multiplayer combat to the death, with a specific progression of unlocking new hunters across four classes and some complicated interplay between the classes. It's a lot to take in, and new players will likely feel lost, so publisher 2K Games released a Survival Guide trailer today to help newbies out.

The seven-minute video gives an overview of the four classes — Assault, Trapper, Medic and Support — and the three monsters that developer Turtle Rock Studios has announced to date: Goliath, Kraken and Wraith. The explainer also delves into the campaign, Evacuation, and three multiplayer modes: Hunt, Nest and Defend. Evacuation includes all modes and all 16 maps in Evolve, and every one of the game's modes can be played online with other people or solo offline.

Evolve launches Feb. 10 on PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One. Customers on Xbox One can skip grinding by pre-purchasing the shooter on the Xbox Games Store.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon