clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Rock Band 4 gets a new look and expands with Foo Fighters, The Cure and more

Rock Band 4's track list will include plenty of 20th-century classics, such as The Cure's "Friday I'm in Love" and Van Morrison's "Brown Eyed Girl," developer Harmonix Music Systems announced today.

Today's reveal doubles the number of announced songs for Rock Band 4 from 11 to 22. Here's the full list of tunes Harmonix trotted out today:

  • Aerosmith - "Toys in the Attic"
  • The Cure - "Friday I'm in Love"
  • Dream Theater - "Metropolis, Pt. 1: The Miracle and the Sleeper"
  • Foo Fighters - "The Feast and the Famine"
  • Judas Priest - "Halls of Valhalla"
  • Live - "All Over You"
  • The Outfield - "Your Love"
  • Ozzy Osbourne - "Miracle Man"
  • Paramore - "Still Into You"
  • St. Vincent - "Birth in Reverse"
  • Van Morrison - "Brown Eyed Girl"

You can see the full list of currently announced Rock Band 4 songs on the Harmonix website. Harmonix also released gameplay footage of "The Feast and the Famine," "Halls of Valhalla" and "Friday I'm in Love" in a new trailer, which you can watch above.

Perhaps more notably, the trailer shows off Rock Band 4's revised user interface — it's different from the version of the game Harmonix demonstrated at E3 less than a month ago. In particular, the notes look more like gems than ever, shimmering with a crystalline depth like the blocks in Capcom's Super Puzzle Fighter 2 Turbo.

Reached for comment, a Harmonix representative confirmed to Polygon that the trailer does contain some new UI elements, but said that the studio is still working on the interface and that we can expect the final game to look even more different.

Rock Band 4 launches Oct. 6 on PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. For more, check out our hands-on impressions from E3 of its freestyle guitar solos.

Verge Video: First look at Rock Band 4 and Guitar Hero Live

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon