clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Babymetal, Weird Al and others come to Rock Band 4

If you buy something from a Polygon link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

search of the Xbox One online store reveals possible new downloadable songs for the next Rock Band game.

"My Own Eyes" by "Weird Al" Yankovic, Babymetal's "Gimme Chocolate!!" and "September" by Earth Wind and Fire are among the 12 songs listed on the website as search results for Rock Band 4.

The Babymetal track is particularly attention-worthy, not only because it's fantastic but also because of the following tweet from the series' official Twitter account, dating back to last November:

The other items that appear in the search include the previously-announced pre-order bonus songs available across all platforms. This suggests that these songs will also be offered as extras, this time exclusively to Xbox One gamers who purchase the game in advance.

Rock Band 4 launches Oct. 6 for PlayStation 4 and Xbox One. Sony has its own digital pre-order bonuses lined up, making songs by Duran Duran and several post-hardcore bands available to PlayStation Plus subscribers. Amazon also offers its own set of exclusive songs, including those by Alabama Shakes and the Pretty Reckless.

Pre-order from any of the above retailers, or anywhere else, and you'll also get 30 other tracks. These include Harmonix house band tracks familiar to Rock Band veterans, like Rock Band 2's "A Jagged Gorgeous Winter" by The Main Drag and "Brainpower" by Freezepop, first heard in the original Rock Band.

Harmonix announced the full tracklist for the game earlier this month. There will be 60 songs available on-disc, with another 1,500-plus included thanks to the extensive DLC library.

We checked out new features like freestyle guitar solos when we went hands-on with the series' next installment at E3 2015.

Update: Harmonix confirmed in a press release this morning that the 12 bonus tracks shown on the Xbox One store will, indeed, be included in the game. The songs will be exclusive to Xbox customers who pre-order.

The full list of Xbox exclusive pre-order songs is as follows:

  • All That Remains - "What If I Was Nothing"
  • BABYMETAL - "Gimme Chocolate!!"
  • Earth, Wind & Fire - "September"
  • Interpol - "All The Rage Back Home"
  • Jefferson Starship - "Jane"
  • Linkin Park ft. Daron Malakian - "Rebellion"
  • Marilyn Manson - "The Mephistopheles Of Los Angeles"
  • Mastodon - "High Road"
  • My Morning Jacket - "One Big Holiday"
  • Pierce The Veil ft. Kellin Quinn - "King For A Day"
  • "Weird Al" Yankovic - "My Own Eyes"
  • The Wild Feathers - "Backwoods Company"

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon