clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2016 Writers Guild Awards nominees include The Witcher 3, Rise of the Tomb Raider

What's your pick for the best-written game of 2015?

Samit Sarkar (he/him) is Polygon’s deputy managing editor. He has more than 15 years of experience covering video games, movies, television, and technology.

The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt and Rise of the Tomb Raider are among the four nominees for the Writers Guild of America's award for 2015's best-written video game, the organization announced today.

Pillars of Eternity, the fantasy role-playing game from Obsidian Entertainment, and Assassin's Creed Syndicate, Ubisoft Quebec's tale of twin assassins in Victorian London, join CD Projekt Red's open-world RPG and Crystal Dynamics' continuation of its new Lara Croft origin story in the category.

Known as the Videogame Writing Award, the WGA's honor highlights the "best qualifying script" from a video game released between Dec. 1, 2014, and Nov. 30, 2015. To be eligible for a nomination, a game's writers must have been given on-screen writing credit, and must have been (or must have applied to become) members of the WGA Videogame Writers Caucus at the time the scripts were submitted. The writing does not need to have been produced under the jurisdiction of the WGA.

The Videogame Writing Award is judged by panels consisting of members of the WGA Videogame Writers Caucus as well as WGA members who are "active in videogame writing," according to a press release from the WGA. The WGA — a labor union for writers of film, television, radio and other media — is a joint organization of the Writers Guild of America, West and the Writers Guild of America, East.

Here's the full list of nominees for the WGA's 2016 Videogame Writing Award:

  • Assassin's Creed Syndicate: Story by Marc-Alexis Cote, Hugo Giard, Corey May, Jeffrey Yohalem; Narrative Director Corey May; Lead Writer Jeffrey Yohalem; Assistant Narrative Director Melissa MacCoubrey; Scriptwriters Russell Lees, Mark Llabres Hill, James Nadiger, Jared Schincariol, Travis Stout, Ceri Young; Additional Writing Judith Flanders, C.J. Kershner, Gabrielle Shrager, Danny Wallace; Additional Senior Writer Paul Monk; Ubisoft
  • Pillars of Eternity: Lead Writer Eric Fenstermaker; Writers Carrie Patel, Olivia Veras; Additional Writing Chris Avellone, Jeff Husges, Matt MacLean, Jorge Salgado, Josh Sawyer, George Ziets; Obsidian Entertainment
  • Rise of the Tomb Raider: Lead Narrative Designer John Stafford; Narrative Designer Cameron Suey; Lead Writer Rhianna Pratchett; Additional Writer Philip Gelatt; Microsoft
  • The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt: Lead Writer Marcin Blacha; Lead English Writer Borys Pugacz-Muraszkiewicz; Writers Arkadiusz Borowik, Aleksandra Motyka, Bartosz Ochman, Karolina Stachyra, Jakub Szamalek; Additional Writers Marcin Batylda, Michal Galek, Tomasz Marchewka, Robert Oglodzinski, Rafal Praszalek, Artur Sliwinski, Stanislaw Swiecicki, Pawel Zych; Story Marcin Blacha, Jakub Szamalek; CD Projekt

The WGA will give out the Videogame Writing Award, along with all of the 2016 Writers Guild Awards, during concurrent ceremonies in New York and Los Angeles on Feb. 16.