clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

How to restore your purchase in Super Mario Run

You don’t have to spend another $9.99

You waited patiently on launch day to download Super Mario Run. You knew you were going to play it obsessively, so you shelled out the $9.99 to unlock all of the levels. But then something went wrong.

Maybe you had to uninstall it, or maybe you’ve decided to switch devices. That’s OK, though, because you’ve already bought it, and you can just restore your purchase.

An Apple support article about restoring your in-app purchases tells you to "open the app that you made the purchase in and look for an option to restore," though it also says that "not all apps have a restore option." Super Mario Run falls into the latter category: There’s no way to restore your purchase within the app.

Worse, the process of actually restoring your purchase looks an awful lot like spending another $9.99. Fret not. We’ve got you covered.

To restore your purchase, go through all the motions of purchasing all six worlds — all the way up through typing in your App Store password and everything. At that point, you’ll see a message telling you that "you’ve already purchased this" and asking if you’d like to "get it again for free." Do that, and you’re good to go. Your progress is synced through your My Nintendo account, so you should be covered there, too.