clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Evolution Soccer's Euro 2016 DLC launches March 24, but not all nations are licensed

Nine of the 24 participants will be represented as generic teams and players

Owen S. Good is a longtime veteran of video games writing, well known for his coverage of sports and racing games.

Pro Evolution Soccer 2016's add-on for the UEFA Euro 2016 tournament will launch on March 24, but only 15 of the 24 teams taking part in this year's tournament are fully licensed.

That means the nine teams that aren't licensed will be represented by ringer players in generic uniforms, though Konami promises these will be rated and will perform consistently with their real-life counterparts. These teams will still play under the nations' real names.

The unlicensed national teams are Russia, Poland, Belgium, Ireland, Sweden, Austria, Hungary, Romania and Switzerland.

Only one real-life stadium, Stade de France, which will host the final match, is included. The UEFA Euro 2016 extension will feature an updated presentation showcasing Europe's confederation championship.

Past video game treatments of the UEFA Euro championship have featured all 53 nations in the association (there are now 54), meaning players could use teams that had not qualified for the tournament in real life. But these were developed by EA Sports, which controlled the license from 2000 to 2012 and released it as a standalone game except for the final year, when it was DLC for FIFA 12.

UEFA Euro 2016 will take place June 10 to July 10 in 10 host cities in France. Konami's extension will launch as DLC for PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Windows PC, Xbox 360 and Xbox One on March 24. It will be free to all who already own Pro Evolution Soccer 2016.

A re-release of Pro Evolution Soccer 2016 will launch on April 21 with the UEFA Euro 2016 content on the disc, but only for PlayStation 3 and PlayStation 4.