clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Doom's six multiplayer modes revealed in trailer

Doom launches May 13; multiplayer beta begins March 31

Doom will feature six multiplayer modes when it launches May 13, and a trailer published today details all of them.

The modes are called Soul Harvest, Freeze Tag, Warpath, Clan Arena, Domination and Team Deathmatch.

Soul Harvest is a Team Deathmatch variant but, after a kill, players need to collect the soul (represented by a skull icon) of the player shot down. Players of either team may reap the souls, but only opposing players' souls count toward the score.

In Freeze Tag, combatants are not killed but rather frozen solid (though their frozen forms may be destroyed in an environmental hazard to trigger a respawn). Players are unfrozen by teammates who stand nearby them for a certain period of time. A team that is frozen entirely loses on the spot. Otherwise "most frozen" wins the round.

Warpath is a type of king-of-the-hill mode, except the control point is a moving area. This area will traverse pits and deadly hazards, forcing teams to respond once it returns to safer ground. The winning team is one reaching a preset score or having the highest score when time expires.

The three other types are more traditional: Domination, which involves three capture points spread across the map; Team Deathmatch; and Clan Arena, a type of deathmatch except there are no pickups, no means of restoring health or armor, and no respawning.

Last week, Bethesda Softworks revealed the nine multiplayer maps shipping with Doom. The game launches May 13 on PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One, and a closed multiplayer beta on all of those platforms will be held March 31 through April 3.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon