clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

J.K. Rowling to release four-part series about magic in North America

Hogwarts America gets its day

J.K. Rowling is about to release the first of four new pieces of writing detailing the history of magic in North America, according to a post on Pottermore.

Based on the description provided, the new series will be very similar to Rowling's work in Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, except this time she'll be exploring the vast species of magical creatures that live within the United States, Canada and Mexico.

The series will act as a lead up to the release of the Fantastic Beasts film, which hits theaters Nov. 18. It's not the only new piece of Harry Potter-related writing Rowling will gift to fans, either. The author is also making the script for her new West End play, Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, available in book format on July 31.

The Cursed Child acts as the eighth canonical installment in the Harry Potter franchise. The story follows Harry and his youngest son, Albus Severus, as they deal with a new evil force encroaching over the wizarding world.

The first part of Rowling's new series will be available to read on Pottermore tomorrow at 9 a.m. ET.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon