clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Minecraft: Story Mode's sixth episode arrives next week

Our heroes kick off a new adventure

Minecraft: Story Mode - Episode 6 screenshot 1920
Samit Sarkar (he/him) is Polygon’s deputy managing editor. He has more than 15 years of experience covering video games, movies, television, and technology.

Minecraft: Story Mode's sixth episode, "A Portal to Mystery," will be available starting June 7, publisher Telltale Games announced today.

The episode will roll out next week on Android, iOS, Mac, PlayStation 3, PlayStation 4, Windows PC, Xbox 360 and Xbox One. Telltale is also bringing the episode to the Windows Store.

"A Portal to Mystery" is the first in a series of three add-on episodes from Telltale that will expand the Story Mode tale with continuing adventures for our heroes in the New Order of the Stone. The previous chapter, "Order Up," was released in March; it bridged the gap between the Wither Storm story arc of the first four episodes and the new three-episode series.

Here's the synopsis of "A Portal to Mystery" from Telltale:

In Episode 6: 'A Portal to Mystery', continuing their journey through the portal hallway, Jesse and crew land themselves in another strange new world — one completely overrun by zombies. With a timely invitation to take refuge in a spooky mansion, they find themselves thrown into a thrilling mystery alongside famous members of the Minecraft community.

Five different Minecraft YouTubers will play themselves in the episode: Joseph Garrett as Stampy Cat, Stacy Hinojosa as Stacy Plays, Dan Middleton as DanTDM (The Diamond Minecart), Lizzie Dwyer as LDShadowLady and Jordan Maron as CaptainSparklez. You can see them discuss their involvement in the video below.

"A Portal to Mystery" will be sold on its own for $4.99. It will also be available in the Adventure Pass, which covers these three extra episodes, for $14.99. Interested parties must own the first episode of Minecraft: Story Mode, or the season pass, in order to play episodes six through eight. For more on the game, read our review of the first episode.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon