clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Allied races join the fight in World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth

Each faction is getting three new allies

World of Warcraft - Alleria Windrunner, Void Elf
Alleria Windrunner, the first Void Elf.
Blizzard Entertainment

Allied races are coming to World of Warcraft. In the game’s next expansion, World of Warcraft: Battle for Azeroth, the Nightborne Elves, Highmountain Tauren and Zandalari Trolls will join the Horde, while the Void Elves, Lightforged Draenei and Dark Iron Dwarves will team up with the Alliance.

Unlike Warcraft’s other playable races, these must be unlocked through a quest line. Once players have played through the quests, they will be able to create a completely new character of their newly unlocked race. These new characters begin at level 20 and can be leveled up all the way up to 120.

While new and veteran players can jump these new races up to the level cap by purchasing a boost, or simply buying a race change for an existing character, there are incentives for taking the long way. If a player creates and levels one a character of the new allied races all the way from 20 to 110, they’ll be given unique armor sets called Heritage Armor. This new Heritage Armor will grant each race a cool new look based on its history.

These races exist not only as cosmetic changes to the usual parties, but also offer new and unique gameplay options. Each of them will also come with its own racial passives and abilities, just like the traditional Warcraft races.

Allied races will be released as part of World of Warcraft’s seventh expansion, Battle for Azeroth, which does not yet have a release date. For more, check out our cover story.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon