clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Mega Man X 1-8 coming to PC, PS4, Switch and Xbox One

All part of Mega Man’s 30th birthday

Mega Man X box art
Michael McWhertor is a journalist with more than 17 years of experience covering video games, technology, movies, TV, and entertainment.

Capcom is bringing the Mega Man X series — all eight games — to Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One, the company announced during a livestream celebrating Mega Man’s 30th anniversary today.

Mega Man X through Mega Man X8 will be rereleased sometime during summer 2018.

It’s not clear currently how the Mega Man X games will be released — either part of a single release like the Mega Man Legacy Collections or as individual titles. Mega Man Legacy Collection, released in 2016, included the first six games in the series originally released on NES. Mega Man Legacy Collection 2, released the following year, included Mega Man 7 through Mega Man 10.

The Mega Man X series started in 1993 with the first release for Super Famicom, meaning Capcom will celebrate the spinoff franchise’s 25th anniversary next year. The franchise later continued on the original PlayStation and Sega Saturn, with entries on PC, GameCube and PlayStation 2.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon