clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Here’s how to use the Nintendo Switch eShop

It’s a little different this time around

Nintendo released its day-one patch for the Switch today, and as a result the eShop is live and games are available to download.

The process is different from how buying and downloading games worked on Nintendo’s older consoles, like the Wii U. In the video above, we show you exactly what it’s like to search for a game on the eShop, go through the process of buying it and then finally download it. If you’re wondering what’s missing, it’s the music.

In this video, we bought Shovel Knight: Treasure Trove, but there are only eight other games available in the store right now to purchase: The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, 1-2-Switch, Super Bomberman R, Shovel Knight: Specter of Torment, Fast RMX, Snipperclips - Cut it out, together!, I Am Setsuna and Just Dance 2017.

More games will be available in the coming months, with Nintendo promising to release new indie games every week through the eShop. The Switch will be available to purchase worldwide as of tomorrow, March 3.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon