clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Xbox One X is the final name of Project Scorpio

Take a look at your introduction to the 4K console future

Image of Xbox One X console and controller Microsoft
Samit Sarkar (he/him) is Polygon’s deputy managing editor. He has more than 15 years of experience covering video games, movies, television, and technology.

Microsoft’s Xbox One upgrade will be called the Xbox One X, the company announced during its E3 2017 press briefing today.

The Xbox One X will be released Nov. 7 worldwide, Xbox head Phil Spencer announced. It will cost $499.

Microsoft updated the Xbox One last year with the Xbox One S, a white redesign of the original black console that reduced its size by 40 percent. Unlike the Xbox One S, the Xbox One X will come in black — although it looks very similar to the white console in shape and design, as you can see above.

As previously announced, the Xbox One X will include a 1 TB hard drive. And because it contains the same port array as the Xbox One S, the same power cable works with both systems. The Xbox One X will contain a 4K Blu-ray drive, three USB 3.0 ports — one in the front, two in the back — and an IR blaster.

The Xbox One S is currently available at a $50 discount, which drops the price of the cheapest bundle to just $199.99. Scorpio will be a significantly more powerful console, with a more than fourfold increase over the Xbox One's graphics capability, a 31 percent increase in CPU speed, and a 50 percent increase in onboard RAM. Even so, it is smaller than the Xbox One S, making it Microsoft’s smallest console ever.

Update: The Xbox One X will cost $499.

Update 2: Here are some product photos of the Xbox One X from Microsoft.

Update 3: We’ve updated the post with some additional details.