clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Little Nightmares’ first DLC explores new depths of the Maw

Take a new character through the first chapter of Secrets of the Maw

Developer Tarsier Studios will debut the first chapter of horror platformer Little Nightmares’ expansion pass July 7 on PlayStation 4, Xbox One and Windows PC.

“The Depths” will introduce a new playable character called the Runaway Kid. Like the yellow-coated Six from the original game, the Runaway Kid will fight to break free from the Maw, a floating prison in the middle of the ocean where monsters creep at every turn. Players will explore new areas of the Maw and struggle against The Granny, which publisher Bandai Namco describes as “a creature abandoned to decay that will let no-one go.”

The new content can only be accessed through the game’s expansion pass “Secrets of the Maw,” which costs $9.99 on the PlayStation Store, Steam and the Xbox Games Store. The story initiated in “The Depths” will continue in two additional chapters. The next one, called “The Hideaway” is set to be released this November, while the third and final yet-untitled episode is scheduled for January 2018.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon