clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Final Fantasy 12 PC port adds New Game Minus mode and more

Have your FF collection (almost) all in one place

final fantasy 12 the zodiac age screenshot Square Enix

Square Enix is porting Final Fantasy 12s recent PlayStation 4 remaster to Windows PC on Feb. 1, the company announced.

When Final Fantasy 12 The Zodiac Age launches on PC, it will feature a handful of upgrades over the PS4 version. The game runs at 60 fps and is compatible with 21:9 monitors, for anyone with the hardware to support that; all three background music options are unlocked from the start; and the configuration menu includes options to max out Gil and license points.

Most intriguing, though, is the ability to select either New Game Plus or the curious New Game Minus content from the get-go. Instead of playing Final Fantasy 12 all the way through again to hit the postgame stuff, Square Enix will let PC owners start off with it. (You’ll still get to go around shouting that you’re “Captain Basch from Dalmasca,” thankfully.) But New Game Minus will add an extra challenge, as players won’t be able to gain any experience points. If that sounds like your kind of thing, have at it.

What’s exciting here for all kinds of Final Fantasy fans is that Final Fantasy 12’s PC release will mean that nearly every mainline entry is playable on a single platform. Following Final Fantasy 12 The Zodiac Age, Square Enix will release Final Fantasy 15 for PC. Once that’s out, we’ll be able to collect every numbered game, from Final Fantasy 3 to Final Fantasy 15 in a single place.

Just Final Fantasy 1 and 2 will remain unobtainable on PC at that point, which could be a pain for completionists. The rest of us should be able to make do with the series’ much more classic later installments.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon