clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Spider-Man’s first story DLC is out today

The game also receives new game plus as part of an update soon

A new storyline for Spider-Man on PlayStation 4 launches today, kicking off a series of story-based downloadable content for the game. Alongside The Heist, the first chapter in the three-part The City That Never Sleeps DLC, Insomniac Games is adding three additional Spidey suits, as well as new game options as part of a separate update.

The Heist stars Black Cat, one of the most classic characters from the Spider-Man comics. Not only is the-woman-otherwise-known-as-Felicia-Hardy one of Spidey’s greatest ... frenemies, she’s also Peter Parker’s ex — so look forward to some more relationship drama. A teaser above hints at what’s to come from the beginning of this storyline.

Also included in The City That Never Sleeps and launching alongside its first chapter are three suits, two of which are drawn from the comics as well: Kaine Parker’s Scarlet Spider and the Spider-UK look from the Spider-Verse. There’s one original costume, designed by Marvel artist Gabriele Dell’Otto, also in the mix.

The City That Never Sleeps’ first chapter launches Oct. 23, and can be bought on its own for $9.99. The entire set of DLC costs $24.99 and guarantees the rest of the content that’s still to come.

But all Spider-Man players can look forward to an update for the game that adds new modes to the game. The European PlayStation Blog details what that will include; it’s curiously not mentioned in the North American version.

“Update 1.07 is one we’ve been working on for a while now, and adds New Game+ (NG+) as well as Ultimate Difficulty to the game,” according to Insomniac. “NG+ allows you to play the story and all activities in the open world again with all of your unlocked suits, skills, gadgets, mods, and benchmarks from the beginning.”

This update is “coming soon,” according to Insomniac.

Update: Insomniac Games has clarified that the update containing new game plus and the new Ultimate difficulty option will not be available this week, as originally stated. The company has instead tweeted that update 1.07 is “coming soon.” We’ve updated the story above.

Update 2 (Oct. 19): New game plus is now available as of today, it turns out. Included in the update is also the Ultimate difficulty level, as well as some big photo mode changes. Not only is there a handy shortcut for it, but there’s also several stickers and frames to use on your pictures too.

Update 3 (Oct. 23): The City That Never Sleeps’ first chapter is out today.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.