clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Mutant Football League weighs in with the final Super Bowl prediction

New, 5 comments

Patriots come back from 21-0 thanks to super-growth, firearms

Tecmo Bowl called tomorrow’s big game for Philadelphia. Madden countered with a New England victory. Here to break the tie is Mutant Football League, which launched two weeks ago.

MFL says the Patriots (pardon me, the New London Hatriots) pull it out with what appears to be a record-setting field goal to complete a comeback from 21-0 in the second quarter.

New England gets some help when defensive end Lawrence Guy goes supersize, stomps on Nick Foles, and takes the ball 30 yards for a touchdown to narrow the score 21-14. The halftime score is 27-26, indicating some missed conversions along the way.

The shit really goes down in the second half, when Tom Brady chucks an interception at the 1-yard line and Eagles QB Nick Foles gets safetied on the ensuing possession, making it 30-28. Brady works out of the shotgun — literally — to get the ball to the 40, but the drive stalls there. That’s far enough for Stephen Gostkowski to toe what looks like a 57-yard field goal over the crossbar. In real life, Steve Christie’s 54-yarder in the 1994 Super Bowl is the record.

If you really want to watch the whole game (about 25 minutes long), that is here.

This silly promotion is actually an announcement that the “Killadelphia Evils” have been added to Mutant Football League, which is available on PlayStation 4, Windows PC and Xbox One right now. That brings the number of teams in the game to 19. Ni-ni-ni-ni-nineteen.

So there you have it. The council of video games has called tomorrow’s Super Bowl for New England. Sorry, Eagles fans.

So, what time is the Super Bowl, anyway? Why, Super Bowl 52 will kick off tomorrow at 6:30 p.m. ET, 5:30 p.m. CT, 4:30 p.m. MT, 3:30 p.m. PT, and Monday in New Zealand.