clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sega Ages for Switch expands with Alex Kidd, Gain Ground

More details on Sega’s line of retro games for Nintendo Switch

Michael McWhertor is a journalist with more than 17 years of experience covering video games, technology, movies, TV, and entertainment.

This weekend, Sega announced that it would bring its Sega Ages line of classic games to Nintendo Switch this summer, starting with Sonic the Hedgehog, Phantasy Star and Thunder Force 4.

Today, Sega confirmed that the Sega Ages games are bound for North America and Europe in addition to Japan, and revealed two more classic games: Alex Kidd in Miracle World for Sega Master System and the original arcade version of Gain Ground. That means that Sega plans to do more than just re-release classic console games as part of the line, but arcade games as well.

Alex Kidd in Miracle World was originally released for the Master System in 1986. The character platformer was later re-released as part of the Sega Vintage Collection for Xbox Live Arcade.

Gain Ground was first released in arcades in 1988, and later ported to Sega Genesis and Master System. The innovative action-strategy game — described by its creators as an “algorithm action” game — was later released under a different strain of the Sega Ages brand, as a 3D remake for PlayStation 2.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon