clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

What time will Nintendo Switch Online launch?

New, 18 comments

Nintendo’s for-pay Switch online service won’t be live until later tonight

Cloud storage on Nintendo Switch Nintendo

Nintendo had previously announced that Nintendo Switch Online would launch today, Sept. 18, but the company has now stated that the service might be going live after much of the United States is asleep.

Nintendo Switch Online will launch later this evening,” the company stated in a tweet. “In preparation, Nintendo Switch eShop is scheduled for maintenance starting at 5 p.m. PT and will be unavailable for up to three hours. We apologize for the inconvenience and appreciate your understanding.”

So here’s the timeline:

  • Nintendo Switch eShop will be taken offline at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET
  • Up to three hours of downtime
  • Nintendo Switch Online will launch, at the latest, at 8 p.m. PT/11 p.m. ET

You will need to update your system once the service is live, according to Nintendo, and then you will need to purchase a subscription either through the eShop or another retailer if you’d like to continue playing your games online (with some exceptions).

All Nintendo Switch owners will get a free week of the service to try it out, and we have a thorough rundown of everything else you may need to know before the service goes live.