clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

New multiplayer modes and maps are coming to Destiny 2 today

Finally, a Dreaming City map arrives

Ryan Gilliam (he/him) has worked at Polygon for nearly seven years. He primarily spends his time writing guides for massively popular games like Diablo 4 & Destiny 2.

As of today’s weekl rest, several new features have been added to the Destiny 2: Forsaken Crucible. A new competitive mode has been added to the game, as well as three new maps. PlayStation 4 players are getting an exclusive fourth map as well, Bungie announced in in its This Week at Bungie post from last week.

The new mode is called Breakthrough, and was revealed a few months ago. It’s a mode designed for the game’s four versus four competitive playlist. Two teams work to capture a neutral point, and then push into the enemy’s base after the neutral point has been captured. If the now-attacking team can take the Breaker in time, they win. If they run out of time, they lose.

This mode will first be featured in its own, separate playlist. But starting on Oct. 2, players will be able to run into Breakthrough in the regular competitive playlist rotation. However, players who own the Forsaken expansion will be able to start playing the mode in private matches starting today.

Bungie is also releasing a slew of new maps today, each compatible with the new Breakthrough mode. Equinox is a new, Trials of the Nine-themed map. Firebase Echo appears to take place inside a Cabal base on Nessus. The Citadel is a new map set inside the Dreaming City. And the PlayStation 4-exclusive map, Gambler’s Ruin, looks to take place in the Tangled Shore. The new Convergence map from Iron Banner last week — which is a rework of an old Destiny map — will also make it into the game’s regular map rotation and will be Breakthrough compatible.

While Bungie isn’t entirely clear in the new post about modes, all of these maps should be available for more than just Breakout. Firebase Echo specifically was shown off by Bungie during the combat stream, being played in a non-competitive mode. However, we likely won’t have a full list of compatible modes with each of the new maps until players gain access to them.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon