clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Disney’s ‘Into the Unknown (in 29 languages)’ kind of cheats, but still slaps

The OOOOOOOH-OOOOOOOHHHs of Frozen 2 sound similar in every tongue

Petrana Radulovic is an entertainment reporter specializing in animation, fandom culture, theme parks, Disney, and young adult fantasy franchises.

If there’s a featured song in an animated movie, chances are there is a multilingual version of it floating around on YouTube.

After four weeks at the top of the box office, Disney has released a multilingual version of Frozen 2s “Into the Unknown.” The video touts 29 languages — four more than the multilingual version of “Let It Go.” from 2014. But upon closer examination “Into the Unknown” may be shortchanging the multilingual-single fans out there.

The new version of the song starts off in English before switching languages about nine seconds after Elsa sings the first line. The song pretty much alternates languages per line which is all fine and dandy. It’s around the bridge where things get a bit iffy.

For about 20 seconds, the song is mostly just Elsa going “WOOOOOOOH-OOOOOOOHHH-OHHHH-OOOHHHHHH,” which counts as three languages in this multilingual version.




Granted, yes, different voice actresses belted each version of the “WOOOOOOO-OOOOOOOHHH-OHHHH-OOOHHHHHH,” but there isn’t actually anything....said in another language.

But never mind that, because even if we disqualify those three, “Into the Unknown”’s multilingual version clocks in at 26 languages — one more than “Let it Go”’s. Now, we’re just waiting for a full multilingual version of the movie’s other triumphant Elsa solo.

The full list of languages and voice actresses, in order of appearance, is as follows: English (Idina Menzel), Castilian Spanish (Gisela), PRC Mandarin (Weina Hu), Swedish (Annika Herlitz), Hungarian (Füredi-Nagy Nikolett), Danish (Maria Lucia Heiberg), Sámi (Marianne Pentha), German (Willemijn Verkaik) , Icelandic (Ágústa Eva Erlendsdóttir), Bulgarian (Nadezhda Panayotova), Mandarin Taiwan (Cai Yong Chun), Estonian (Hanna-Liina Võsa), Norwegian (Lisa Stokke), Serbian (Jelena Gavrilovic), French (Charlotte Hervieux), Russian (Anna Buturlina), Italian (Serena Autieri), Greek (Sia Koskina), Polish (Katarzyna Łaska), Korean (Hye-Na Park), Flemish (Elke Buyle), Vietnamese (Tiêu Châu Như Quỳnh), Thai (Wichayanee Pearklin), Latin Spanish (Carmen Sarahí), Kazakh (Gulsim Myrzabekova), Hindi (Sunidhi Chauhan), Japanese (Takako Matsu), Finnish (Katja Sirkiä), and Brazilian Portuguese (Taryn).