clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Star Wars: Episode IX finally gets an official title

No — it’s not ‘Yoda’s Bar Mitzvah’

Petrana Radulovic is an entertainment reporter specializing in animation, fandom culture, theme parks, Disney, and young adult fantasy franchises.

Star Wars: Episode IX — the final installment in the sequel trilogy — has an official name: Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker.

Contrary to what Mark Hammill tweeted, it probably won’t focus on the Futurama-version of Episode 9, “Yoda’s Bar Mitzvah.” The Rise of Skywalker will pick up some time after the events of The Last Jedi, and as such, all the surviving characters of Episode VIII will return, including the late Carrie Fisher as Princess Leia, who will appear by way of unused footage from The Force Awakens. Billy Dee Williams joins the cast as Lando Calrissian, along with Matt Smith, Richard E. Grant, and Keri Russell in unspecified roles.

Episode IX will be the last Star Wars movie (for now) to continue George Lucas’ original Skywalker saga before the franchise explores other characters in the galaxy far far away. Spinoffs include the upcoming live-action show The Mandalorian, and a new trilogy from The Last Jedi director Rian Johnson, and an ambiguous project from Game of Thrones writers D.B. Weiss and David Benioff.

Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker comes out on Dec. 20.