clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Watch the Star Wars Celebration panels here

New, 18 comments

Will we finally see the Episode IX trailer?

Anticipation for Star Wars: Episode IX (still untitled!), the various Disney Plus live-action Star Wars series, and theme park expansion Galaxy’s Edge is at an all-time high, yet there’s still little news out there on all those projects.

Worry no longer — ‘tis the season for Star Wars Celebration, the annual fan gathering to celebrate all things Star Wars and get some long-awaited news on upcoming movies/shows/theme parks galore. This year’s Star Wars Celebration will take place in Chicago from April 11 to 16. Not able to attend? Not to worry. Here’s where to watch and what to keep an eye out for.

Where to watch Star Wars: Episode IX panel

The official Star Wars website and YouTube channel will both be hosting live streams of panels. If you miss the panels, videos from the live-streamed panels will appear later on the YouTube channel, as well as segments from smaller panels that weren’t live streamed.

Additionally, gaming specific news (aka the panel on Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order) will be streamed on EA’s Star Wars Twitch channel.

When to watch all the Star Wars Celebration panels

The weekend spectacle will have loads of panels, but here are the big ones to keep your eyes out on.

Photo: Charlie Hall/Polygon

Friday, April 12

Star Wars: Episode IX Panel (11 a.m. CDT/12 p.m. EDT/9 a.m. PDT): The weekend will kick off with a panel devoted to the final installment in the Skywalker saga. Expect the full title to be revealed, as well as a trailer and poster. Information about Episode IX has been pretty sparse, so we’re all hungry for even the smallest bit of detail.

Vader Immortal: A Star Wars VR Series Panel (1:30 p.m. CDT/2:30 p.m. EDT/11:30 a.m. PDT): This will be a closer look at a new virtual reality experience that will take users deep into Darth Vader’s Mustafar Fortress.

Saturday, April 13

Galaxy’s Edge Panel (11 a.m. CDT/12 p.m. EDT/9 a.m. PDT): This one’s for all the theme park fans out there. The Disneyland version of Galaxy’s Edge is set to open on May 31, with the Disney World version following on Aug. 29. Look out for ride info, and more worldbuilding of the park’s narrative.

Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order Panel (1:30 p.m. CDT/2:30 p.m. EDT/11:30 a.m. PDT): The upcoming video game from EA and Respawn will be revealed at this panel, which will also be streamed on EA’s Star Wars Twitch channel. The game will follow a young Jedi who survived Order 66. Gameplay demo and a trailer are likely.

Sunday, April 14

The Mandalorian Panel (11 a.m. CDT/12 p.m. EDT/9 a.m. PDT): We know some scant plot information about the Disney Plus series, as well as who will be joining the main cast. Hopefully this will give us a trailer — or at least a poster — and a possible release date.

The Clone Wars Panel (3:30 pm CDT/4:30 p.m. EDT/1:30 p.m. PDT): The Clone Wars returns for one more season on Disney Plus. Watch out for a trailer and possibly a release date, now that Disney Plus’ launch has been announced.