clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Xbox E3 2019 press conference set for June 9

New, 10 comments

Microsoft promises its biggest E3 presence ever, just as Sony sits it out

A render of Master Chief’s helmet from Halo Infinite 343 Industries/Microsoft

Microsoft is promising its “biggest E3 presence ever” at E3 2019, and will kick off this year’s expo with the company’s annual Xbox E3 briefing on Sunday, June 9, at 1 p.m. PDT/4 p.m. EDT.

The Xbox E3 2019 briefing will stream live on the official Xbox Mixer channel, as well as other unannounced platforms — expect Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook to all carry the stream. The Xbox team promises updates on unannounced titles coming in 2019 and in-depth looks at previously announced games during the press conference.

Xbox’s upcoming lineup includes marquee titles like Halo Infinite and Gears 5. We’re also likely to get updates on games from the many studios Microsoft acquired over the past year. The company added Undead Labs, Ninja Theory, Obsidian Entertainment, Compulsion Games, and Playground Games to its internal studios over the past year and founded an all-new one, The Initiative.

There’s also a very good chance that Microsoft will give us our first look at the next Xbox — or heavily hint at what it’s capable of — especially now that Sony has lifted the veil on the PlayStation 5. We’re also likely to hear more finalized details on Project xCloud, Microsoft’s game streaming platform.

Microsoft will follow up Sunday’s E3 keynote with a special episode of Inside Xbox, its streaming showcase for all things Xbox. Inside Xbox: Live @ E3 will air Monday, June 10 at 3 p.m. PDT/6 p.m. EDT and promises “exclusive announcements, game demos, interviews, and more.”