clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sega’s bringing the Virtual-On series to PS4

Three classic robot fighting games in one collection


Sega’s robot fighting game series, Virtual-On, is coming to PlayStation 4 in the form of Cyber Troopers Virtual-On: Masterpiece 1995-2001. The collection will include three of the games that originally debuted in arcades: the original Cyber Troopers Virtual-On from 1995, Virtual-On Oratorio Tangram, and Virtual-On Force.

(Just to be clear for the serious Virtual On fans, the full title of Oratorio Tangram is Cyber Troopers Virtual-On: Oratorio Tangram M.S.B.S. Ver. 5.66, the 2000 release.)

According to the official Virtual-On website, all three titles included in the Masterpiece collection will feature network play for online battles, as well as support for team battles, mini tournaments, and round-robin tournaments. Cyber Troopers Virtual On: Masterpiece 1995-2001 will also support the massive twin-stick controller that was crowdfunded by manufacturer Tanita.

Cyber Troopers Virtual On: Masterpiece 1995-2001 is slated for release digitally in Japan on Nov. 27. The game will cost 4,500 yen (a little over $40). Sega has not confirmed a Western release, but you can check out some gameplay from Tokyo Game Show below.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon