clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Here’s when you’ll be able to start playing Destiny 2: Shadowkeep and New Light

New, 6 comments

There’s 24 hours of downtime before you get a chance to play

Guardians look at the spooky, scarlet keep in Destiny 2: Shadowkeep Bungie

Destiny 2: Shadowkeep and Destiny 2: New Light are almost here, but the expansion won’t launch until the weekly reset on Tuesday, Oct. 1. Depending on your time zone, you may have to wait until the evening to play them.

On Monday, Sept. 30, Bungie will bring down Destiny and Destiny 2 for an extended maintenance period. Players won’t be able to log in or play at all until the reset on Tuesday — 1 p.m EST every week.

When the Tuesday reset occurs, players on PS4 and Xbox One can jump into the new content immediately. For PC players, Destiny 2 will launch on Steam for the first time with the reset, and it will officially deactivate on Blizzard’s Battle.net client. PC players can jump in at reset as well, but it’s possible there could be some new platform problems to contend with.

If you’ve yet to migrate your Destiny 2 PC account over to Steam, you’ll need to use the tool on Bungie’s website before the weekly reset on Oct. 1. Note that Bungie won’t launch the Google Stadia version of Destiny 2 until later this year.

Here’s a more detailed breakdown, by time zones, of Destiny 2: Shadowkeep and New Light’s release time.


Destiny 2: Shadowkeep and New Light release time on PS4, Steam, and Xbox One

Pacific Daylight Time

Oct. 1 — 10 a.m.

Central Time

Oct. 1 — 12 p.m.

Eastern Daylight Time

Oct. 1 — 1 p.m.

Greenwich Mean Time

Oct. 1 — 5 p.m.

British Summer Time

Oct. 1 — 6 p.m.

Central European Summer Time

Sept. 13 — 7 p.m.