clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Temtem guide: How to evolve your Temtem

Understand what triggers evolutions

Temtem evolution guide Image: Crema via Polygon
Jeffrey Parkin (he/him) has been writing video game guides for Polygon for almost seven years. He has learned to love just about every genre of game that exists.

Temtem, like that other creature-collecting game, has species to collect and pit in combat. Over time, some of these temtem evolve into new species with new stats and types.

This guide will help you understand Temtem evolution and what triggers it.

What is evolving?

Some Temtem evolve into a second, more powerful form. This changes the original Temtem into the new one and replaces their stats. Some evolutions can learn new techniques or attacks.

What triggers evolution?

A Temtem evolves once it has gained a certain number of levels after being added to your Temdeck.

For example, a Paharo evolves into a Paharac when it gains nine levels. That means if you capture a level five Paharo, it will evolve when it reaches level 14. If you capture a level nine Paharo it will evolve when it reaches level 18.

Temtem level up by gaining XP from participating in battles. XP is earned during each round, so Temtem not involved in the fight, or Temtem that are knocked out during a round do not earn any XP.

The number of levels depends on the species of Temtem.

How to evolve your Temtem

The short answer is: Use them in fights. Temtem need to gain a certain number of levels before they’ll evolve, and the only way to increase their level (and XP) is to use them in a fight.

You should note, though, that not every Temtem has an evolution. Tateru, for example, doesn’t because they’re already perfect.