clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Valorant’s ranked mode, Rated, explained

Riot also revealed Valorant’s competitive ranks

If you buy something from a Polygon link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

A player in Valorant aims down the sights of their gun at another player Image: Riot Games
Austen Goslin (he/him) is an entertainment editor. He writes about the latest TV shows and movies, and particularly loves all things horror.

Riot has finally revealed the first details about Valorant’s upcoming ranked mode. Since Valorant’s closed beta started a few weeks ago, there has only been one mode: Unrated. But in the game’s next patch, Rated mode will be added, allowing players to earn ranks based on their win-loss record.

Before Rated mode hits the live servers, here’s everything you need to know about how it will work.

How does Rated mode work?

Before players can jump into Rated mode, they’ll have to play at least 20 Unrated matches. This is like a warm up period, to make sure that players are familiar with the game before they need to start taking their matches seriously.

Once a player jumps into Rated mode, every match will count towards their overall rank. Winning matches makes a player’s rank go up, while losing them makes it go down. Decisiveness also matters when it comes to rank. If a player wins a match 13-2 then they’ll get more progress than they would for winning 13-11.

Winning isn’t the only way to rank up. Valorant will also rate players based on individual performance. If someone has a great game, but their team still can’t earn the victory, they may still rank up a bit, or at least not lose much progress toward their next tier.

Ranks will be displayed on a player’s profile as long as they’ve played a game in the last 14 days. If you don’t play for 14 days, your rank will disappear, but you won’t lose any progress and it will come back as soon as you play another Rated game.

How many friends can I play with in Rated mode?

Valorant will let players queue with a full team of friends. But if you’re playing in a full group of five, the game will try to match you with other full groups. The same thing goes for other team combinations, like queuing up with three or four players as well.

For players to play in the same Rated game, they have to be within two ranks (or six tiers) of each other. This ensures that everyone is at a similar skill level.

When does Valorant’s Rated mode come out?

Valorant’s Rated mode will be released with patch .49 — which is actually the game’s next patch since Riot’s skipping patch .48. While that doesn’t give us much of an exact date, Valorant game director Joe Ziegler took to Twitter to let players know that Riot is aiming for the patch to be out sometime next week. After the patch is released and Riot is sure it’s stable, the Rated mode will go live.

What are the ranks in Rated mode for Valorant?

Ranks in Valorant Image: Riot Games

Here are all the ranks starting from the lowest and going to the highest:

  • Iron (1, 2, and 3)
  • Bronze (1, 2, and 3)
  • Silver (1, 2, and 3)
  • Gold (1, 2, and 3)
  • Platinum (1, 2, and 3)
  • Diamond (1, 2, and 3)
  • Immortal (1, 2, and 3)
  • Valorant (yes, this is literally the name of the highest rank)

Vox Media has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Vox Media may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links. For more information, see our ethics policy.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.