clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Bungie adding a new form of targeted Destiny 2 loot next season

Focus your [REDACTED] Engram to be the loot you want

If you buy something from a Polygon link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

a Hunter and Titan in Destiny 2: Season of Opulence Image: Bungie
Ryan Gilliam (he/him) has worked at Polygon for nearly seven years. He primarily spends his time writing guides for massively popular games like Diablo 4 & Destiny 2.

For the past year, Bungie has been experimenting with new systems that help you pick the loot you want in Destiny 2, rather than having new guns be completely random. On Thursday, creative lead Robbie Stevens posted details about a new [REDACTED] Engram coming to Destiny 2’s 11th season, and more ways to earn seasonal rewards.

Since Bungie started Destiny 2’s new seasonal model, engaging with seasonal activities has been the only way to earn seasonal rewards. But when Bungie drops season 11 on June 9, players will be able to pick up some seasonal weapons from Strikes, Crucible, and Gambit — Destiny 2’s core activities. The goal is for players to feel good about engaging with all of Destiny 2, not just the newest activity.

Bungie is also adding a new Engram that can drop “a majority” of the seasonal rewards — including two weapons from each of the past three seasons. Players can spend whatever the new seasonal currency is to influence the contents of this [REDACTED] Engram (a placeholder name, as Bungie has yet to reveal the story of the upcoming seasons).

Stevens gave the example of how the [REDACTED] Engram would work in the current season, Season of the Worthy. Once the Engram dropped, players could take it to one of the Seraph bunker locations, spend some seasonal currency to “Focus” the engram, and force it to only drop either the Seventh Seraph SMG or shotgun. This allows players to effectively choose what rewards they want, or at least reduce the role randomness plays in getting loot.

Stevens listed two potential Focus categories: Armor focusing removes all potential drops outside of season 11 armor, while previous seasonal weapon focusing forces the Engram to only drop one of the six weapons from the past three seasons. Free players can choose from three Focus categories, while season pass owners can choose from 18 different Focus paths.

Stevens also offered a list of activities that [REDACTED] Engrams can drop from in season 11, not including random drops from killing enemies:

  • Public Events
  • Strikes
  • Gambit
  • Crucible
  • Dungeons
  • Raids
  • Adventures
  • Nightmare Hunts
  • Forges
  • Reckoning
  • Menagerie
  • Escalation Protocol
  • Blind Well

This system isn’t entirely dissimilar to the Chalice of Opulence from last summer’s Menagerie activity. And players should be eager to collect new loot before this fall, when Bungie starts sunsetting certain weapons.

Players can expect their first [REDACTED] Engrams when Bungie launches season 11 in a few weeks.

Vox Media has affiliate partnerships. These do not influence editorial content, though Vox Media may earn commissions for products purchased via affiliate links. For more information, see our ethics policy.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon