clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Square Enix is bringing the Final Fantasy Legend Game Boy games to Switch

Coming in December

Final Fantasy Legend - push a to start screen Image: Square Enix

Square Enix will release the first three SaGa series games — The Final Fantasy Legend, Final Fantasy Legend 2, and Final Fantasy Legend 3 — on the Nintendo Switch this year. The games, available as the Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend, will be available digitally on Dec. 15.

Square Enix and Nintendo made the announcement in a Nintendo Direct Mini that surprised dropped on YouTube Wednesday. The collection will cost $19.99.

These games were originally released on Nintendo’s Game Boy system. Final Fantasy Legend was released in 1989 in Japan. Final Fantasy Legend 2 was released in 1990 and Final Fantasy Legend 3 was released in 1991. New games in the series have been released consistently over the years, the last of which was released in Japan in 2019: Imperial SaGa Eclipse.

Collection of SaGa Final Fantasy Legend will include “new enhancements” like a high-speed mode, “adjustable screen magnification,” and “game screen background customization.” Players can also turn the Nintendo Switch vertically — with Joy-Cons removed — to play that way, too.

According to Nintendo, the Game Boy versions of these games were the first Game Boy RPGs to “sell over a million units.” It made our top 10 list of the greatest Game Boy games of all time.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon