clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Ninja Gaiden trilogy coming to Switch, PS4, Xbox One, and PC

Ryu Hayabusa is back

Ryu Hayabusa from Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2 Image: Team Ninja/Koei Tecmo

Team Ninja’s Ninja Gaiden trilogy — the modern incarnation that stars master ninja Ryu Hayabusa — is coming to Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, Windows PC (via Steam), and Xbox One on June 10. Publisher Koei Tecmo revealed the Ninja Gaiden collection during a Nintendo Direct presentation on Wednesday.

The Ninja Gaiden: Master Collection will include Ninja Gaiden Sigma, Ninja Gaiden Sigma 2, and Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge, as well as all DLC, costumes, and game modes.

The modern Ninja Gaiden series kicked off in 2004 under the direction of Tomonobu Itagaki with the game Ninja Gaiden for Xbox. The original was later reworked, repackaged, and ported to other platforms as Ninja Gaiden Black, Ninja Gaiden Sigma, and Ninja Gaiden Sigma Plus. Team Ninja released a sequel, Ninja Gaiden 2, in 2008, and Ninja Gaiden 3 in 2012. The final game in the trilogy was released for Wii U as Ninja Gaiden 3: Razor’s Edge.

Koei Tecmo’s Ninja Gaiden was inspired by the NES-era action-platformer series of the same name. The first Ninja Gaiden came to consoles in 1988, the same year an arcade beat-’em-up, also named Ninja Gaiden, was released. Two more Ninja Gaiden games were released for NES: Ninja Gaiden 2: The Dark Sword of Chaos (1990) and Ninja Gaiden 3: The Ancient Ship of Doom (1991).

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon