clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Four PC classics delisted from next week

Ultima Underworld 1+2, Syndicate Plus, and Syndicate Wars all leaving; all but Syndicate Wars are on Origin

If you buy something from a Polygon link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

artwork for Ultima Underworld 1+2: a shirtless barbarian with sword and shield peers down a staircase into a dungeon below
Box art for Ultima Underworld 1+2, a 2011 re-release of the 1992 and 1993 games.
Image: Blue Sky Productions, Origin Systems/Electronic Arts

Three 1990s games from Electronic Arts’ Origin Systems PC line will be delisted from on Monday, June 28. The titles are Ultima Underworld 1+2, Syndicate Wars, and Syndicate Plus, the 1996 re-release that comprises the first Syndicate and its expansion.

All three are currently available for $1.49 each. Anyone who buys the games before their delisting will still find them in their library of titles after they’re taken down. They may still re-download them, too. The removal takes effect at 9 a.m. EDT on June 28. noted in a forum post Thursday that it was pulling the games on request from the publisher. Polygon has reached out to an Electronic Arts representative for additional comment. All of the games involved, except for Syndicate Wars, are currently available through EA’s Origin storefront.

Syndicate, by Peter Molyneux’s Bullfrog Productions, launched in 1993, with an expansion pack released later that year. It was followed by Syndicate Wars in 1996. The isometric real-time strategy and tactics game was rebooted in 2012 as a first-person shooter.

Ultima Underworld: The Stygian Abyss and Ultima Underworld 2: Labyrinth of Worlds launched in 1992 and 1993, respectively. Richard Garriott directed and Warren Spector produced the first game; Spector produced and Paul Neurath directed the second. The two were packaged together for sale on in 2011.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon