clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity Divine Beasts guide

Beast mode

Vah Naboris, the Divine Beast from Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity Image: Koei Tecmo Games/Nintendo via Polygon

Even though most of Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity has you taking on waves of enemies face-to-face, a few missions let you pilot massive Divine Beasts and lay waste to armies. These behemoths were integral to the plot of The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild, but instead of fighting your way through these mechanized monsters, now you get to control them.

In this Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity guide, we’ll show you which missions let you pilot the Divine Beast for the first time and what you can do once you’re in the driver’s seat.

When do you get to pilot Divine Beasts?

Each of Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity’s four champions (Daruk, Mipha, Revali, and Urbosa) get to pilot their Divine Beast in this game. However, you don’t get to control their machines when you unlock each character at the start. In fact, for some characters, you won’t get to take the wheel until much later in the story.

Here’s when you get to play as each Divine Beast.

Mipha / Vah Ruta

Vah Ruta from Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity Image: Koei Tecmo Games/Nintendo via Polygon

You won’t get to play Vah Ruta, the massive elephant-like Divine Beast, until the finale of Mipha’s introductory mission, “Mipha, the Zora Princess,” in chapter two.

At the end of the mission, you’ll pilot Vah Ruta throughout Zora’s Domain, defeating thousands of enemies. Her Divine Beast’s special attack lets her lock onto multiple enemies before blasting them all with icicles.

Daruk / Vah Ridania

Vah Ridania in Hyrule Warriors: Age of Calamity Image: Koei Tecmo Games/Nintendo via Polygon

You get to pilot Vah Ridania at the end of Daruk’s introductory mission, “Daruk, the Goron Hero,” in chapter two.

The final leg of the mission has you taking control of the Divine Beast to take out enemies who have overrun Death Mountain. Daruk’s machine has a special attack that lets you choose an area to bombard with lava.

Revali / Vah Medoh

You get to take to the skies as Vah Medoh during the mission, “Freeing Korok Forest,” in chapter three.

The mission has Revali clearing some of the enemies attacking the forest with his Divine Beast. The Rito warrior’s vehicle has two modes. One lets it shoot enemies ahead of it. The other allows it to target enemies below it. Its special move rips through the skies when facing upward and turns into a controllable bombardment when attacking enemies on the ground.

Urbosa / Vah Naboris

Urbosa hops into the control room of Vah Naboris at the start of the chapter 4 mission “Destroy the Yiga Clan.”

Before infiltrating the enemy base, Urbosa uses her Divine Beast to destroy their defenses, making a path for her and her allies to take them on. Like its Champion, Vah Naboris casts powerful lighting attacks that require an energy charge to unleash. The more of a charge it has, the faster its basic attacks can fire. Waiting between attacks lets it refill. Her special attack requires a full charge before it can blast through everything surrounding it.

Divine Beast Battles

After you play as the Divine Beasts for the first time, special missions for them will unlock. These Divine Beast battles are side missions specifically tailored to one of the four monster machines.

They are like standard side missions that require you to defeat a certain set of enemies to gain experience and rewards. Like other optional quests, you can complete these at any time.

Sign up for the newsletter Sign up for Patch Notes

A weekly roundup of the best things from Polygon