clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Xbox heading to Gamescom with a new livestream on Aug. 24

New, 1 comment

Microsoft promises game updates, but not much else

white Xbox logo floats over glitchy green “clouds” Illustration: James Bareham/Polygon

Microsoft is heading (virtually) to this year’s Gamescom, the annual video game expo normally held in Germany every summer, in the form of a livestream on Aug. 24. That’s one day before Gamescom 2021 officially begins on Aug. 25. This year’s expo will be entirely digital, just like last year.

The Gamescom 2021 Xbox stream can be viewed on YouTube, Twitch, Facebook Gaming, and Twitter on Aug. 24 at 1 p.m. EDT/10 a.m. PDT/7 p.m. CEST.

The Xbox team promises “in-depth updates from some of our previously announced Xbox Game Studios titles alongside some of our third-party partners,” during its Gamescom 2021 stream. Expect Microsoft to focus on games scheduled for release this holiday season, like Halo Infinite, and titles coming to Xbox Game Pass.

Microsoft’s Aaron Greenberg, general manager of Xbox Games Marketing, reemphasized on Twitter that the stream is “focused on game updates coming this year.” Greenberg said viewers shouldn’t expect new reveals or major surprises, but teased “a fun stream.” (You can probably expect those new reveals and major surprises to show up during Gamescom Opening Night Live, a stream hosted by Geoff Keighley coming on Aug. 25 at 2 p.m. EDT/11 a.m PDT.)