clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Destiny 2: Season of the Lost starts today

Here’s a look at the next several months of Destiny 2

Ryan Gilliam (he/him) has worked at Polygon for nearly seven years. He primarily spends his time writing guides for massively popular games like Diablo 4 & Destiny 2.

Destiny 2’s latest season, Season of the Lost, starts today. And it runs until Feb. 22, 2022, the same day Bungie will release the game’s next expansion, The Witch Queen.

Bungie revealed a host of new changes coming to its looter-shooter MMO on Tuesday, including details for The Witch Queen, the expansion coming early next year. As a part of this Destiny Showcase, Bungie also showed off the game’s latest season, Season of the Lost. As players have come to expect with the developer’s seasonal approach, Season of the Lost will include a new season pass, Exotics, activities, and story.

Season of the Lost will take players back to the Dreaming City location, first added in Destiny 2’s 2018 Forsaken expansion. Players will meet up with Mara Sav, queen of the Awoken, whom players haven’t seen “alive” since the start of The Taken King expansion in 2015.

Leaked ads for Season of the Lost appeared on the internet last week, and gave credibility to a host of other leaks about the future of Destiny 2. Bungie officially revealed the title for Season of the Lost, as well as Mara’s involvement, on Friday.

The next level of puzzles.

Take a break from your day by playing a puzzle or two! We’ve got SpellTower, Typeshift, crosswords, and more.